About Album

Bringing together an all-star cast of musicians from the vibrant Helsinki jazz scene Mortality combines the conceptual aesthetics of progressive rock with the harmonic and tonal soundscapes of jazz and jazz improvisation. Despite the heavy subject matter the music on the album is delicate, melodic and hopeful. Each member gives their own, distinctive interpretation of the topic in their pieces, while Ylinen’s melodic language keeps the overall piece coherent as a whole.”

  • RELEASE DATE /November 29, 2019
  • By /Mortality
  • FORMAT /Vinyl LP, CD, digital
  • Lineup/Verneri Pohjola - trumpet
    Pauli Lyytinen - sax
    Aki Rissanen - piano, Rhodes
    Mika Kallio - drums
    Jori Huhtala - bass
    Jere Haakana - guitar
    Teemu Viinikainen - guitar
    Tapio Ylinen - compositions
Buy Album